News & Events

Congratulations to Drs. Iyer, Zhang, Aravamudhan and Alston

North Carolina A&T State University’s annual Celebration of Faculty Excellence, an evening to celebrate and reward excellence in teaching, advising, research, and community engagement, was held this year on May 11th.  Several faculty members from the Department of Nanoengineering were recognized for their professional accomplishments, including Dr. Shanthi Iyer, who received the Intellectual Property Award for her work on multimetallic nanowires, described in several publications, patents, and invention disclosures.  Dr. Lifeng Zhang was recognized for his promotion to (Full) Professor and the 2023 Outstanding Dissertation Award.  Finally, important professional milestones were reached by two other Nanoengineering faculty members:  Dr. Shyam Aravamudhan was also promoted to Professor and Dr. Jeffrey Alston received tenure and was promoted to Associate Professor.  All in all, an excellent academic year for the Department of Nanoengineering.  Congratulations to all the awardees and, by extension, to all of us!